who decides?

bryce-cameron-liston

(painting by Bryce Cameron Liston)

Who decides our behaviour?

the self,(personal factors),

or the enviorment surrounding us, including others.

The psychologist Albert Bandura  says that a person’s behavior both influences and is influenced by personal factors and the social environment(reciprocal determinism).

If it is , both…..

Then which has the major role or influence?

the enviorment or the self.

I think it is enviorment.

Because, the  ‘self’imbibed many things from the surroundings for its formation.

The self is not an isolated entity..formed in vaccum…it incorporates many things from its enviorment.

And I know that children learn many things by imitating.

Then the decision maker is the  enviornment…..

is it?

I have opted one option,the enviornment,among the  different options.

And I will say…I am correct ..

Because I have opted the choice,which many would  accept.

so,I have a doubt…..

I have opted the option, because I need an acceptance from others,

or others approval that it is “logicaly sounded”.

or

some may argue that the behaviour is a decision of self,

they may argue that self has two aspects, superficial and innate,

the superficial aspect of self, may be influenced by the enviornment,

and the innate self is the persistent one,determined by genes,hereditary.

Then I will ask again?

who decides  behaviour..

our nature(self) or nurture/(enviornment)?

Eventhough,I am doing a kind of dichotomous thinking,

Theologians  will put forward another dimension,

And they may say it is God,who decides everything

Even the behaviour of a person,

Irish theologian wrote that God’s predestination should be equated with his foreknowledge of people’s choices.

God knows our choices,even if our choices are infinity,

And God knows…my choices and the one choice, I will opt or choose in each occassion.

Among the many choices of behaviour,which one we will opt is predestined.

who decides  behaviour?

On the way to our workplace we may meet an accident,

the accident was not there in our planning,and,

this can change our behaviour ,our choices.

one keyperson from our life may be deceased,suddenly.

This can change our behaviour ..our choices…

who decides our behaviour…..

If God predestined to remove a key person,suddenly, from our life,

What kind of God,  it is?

some people says God’s plans are bigger and we are unable to comprehend it.

And since he is the creator,provider,owner…he has the right to do whatever he wants to do.

still,I dont know who decides my behaviour?

the self,enviornment or the  God……..?

predestined-quotes-1

(I was writing and publishing this post….

who decided it…..

myself?

yes ofcourse,I have no doubt.

But it was for getting a kind of appreciation from you,(eventhough I am reluctant to admit it,openly….I like to say I am just enjoying my own creation)

And I have a doubt that God has allowed me to do this and he may be planning something…to  stimulate myself or you to lead into a kind of wisdom or something else).

who knows?

‘We may regard the present state of the universe as the effect of the past and the cause of the future. An intellect which at any given moment knew all of the forces that animate nature and the mutual positions of the beings that compose it, if this intellect were vast enough to submit the data to analysis, could condense into a single formula the movement of the greatest bodies of the universe and that of the lightest atom; for such an intellect nothing could be uncertain and the future just like the past would be present before its eyes’.

— Pierre Simon Laplace, A Philosophical Essay on Probabilities
Leave a Reply

